Something I read today really resonated with me.

Luke 10:38-42: Martha and Mary

“38 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.'”

This poem I stumbled across sums it up well:

“Do not neglect Mary for Martha
nor Martha for Mary.
If you neglect Martha, who will serve Jesus?
And if you neglect Mary,
what will be the use of the visit of Jesus,
since you will not taste His sweetness?
Know, my brothers [and sisters], that in this life it is necessary
never to separate these two women!”
===============

It is all too easy to miss prayer/Scripture time each day…the “tyranny of the urgent” often overshadows the quiet things of importance. It is impossible to draw water out of a dry well; so, too, we CANNOT adequately love and serve others if we are not sitting at the feet of Jesus and soaking in His Word and His presence. Balance. Life is not segregated into “spiritual” and “secular.” No. All of life, from washing dishes to meditating on the Word to praise and worship, ALL of it, is service to God. While I work, I work knowing it is for the Lord, and that He is with me. When I pray, meditate, soak in the Word, I am being refreshed, cleansed, refueled to go back out there into this rough and tumble world, and brazenly show His Love to ALL I come across. There cannot be an effective “Martha” get-er-dun!” attitude without a “Mary” heart of worship. And there cannot be “Mary” attitude of prayer and praise, if we are so focused only on ourselves that we are not serving and loving others in Martha-like fashion. May we cultivate each… in balance.

